American Therapeutic Recreation Association

Welcome to ATRA


The governance of ATRA rests with the ATRA Board of Directors (BOD). The BOD consists of the following positions: President, President-Elect, Treasurer, Secretary, five Members-at-Large, and Chair of the Chapter Affiliate Council. The President-Elect serves for two years, one as President-Elect and one as President. All other positions are for a three year term. Each year a variety of positions are up for election. Board terms begin at the annual membership meeting held during the annual conference.

Learn more about the nomination and election process. You can also view a roster of previous board members.

Board of Directors 2016-2017

Board members serve as liaisons between ATRA Committees and the governing body. Contact a team leader or board liaison to join a committee.



Marilyn Radatz, MS, CTRS (2016-2017)
Salem VA Medical Center
1970 Roanoke Blvd (11K)
Salem, VA  24153
(540) 982-2463  Ext. 4928


Marieke VanPuymbroeck, Ph.D., CTRS, FDRT (2016-2017)
Clemson University
(864) 656-1189


Dawn DeVries, DHA, MPA, CTRS (2016-2017)
Grand Valley State University
CHS 212
301 Michigan NE
Grand Rapids, MI  49503
(616) 331-5553


Betsy Kemeny, Ph.D., CTRS (2016-2019)
Slippery Rock University
106 Patterson Hall
Slippery Rock, PA  16127
(724) 738-4306


Brent Wolfe, Ph.D., CTRS (2015-2018)
Georgia Southern University
PO Box 8034
Statesboro, GA 30460
(912) 478-7381



Maggie Bayerl, CTRS (2016-2017)
Madison, WI

Vincent Bonadies, MS, CTRS (2015-2016)
Pearl River, NY

Ellen Broach  (2016-2018)
University of South Alabama
71 Jaguar Dr. PE Bldg.
Mobile, AL  36689
(251) 460-7131

Rachel Gorman (2015-2017)
Portland, OR

Thea Kavanaugh, CTRS (2016-2017)
4736 Calle De Nubes
Las Cruces, NM 88012
(575) 635-9013

Jo-Ellen Ross, PhD, CTRS (2016-2018)
Temple University
1700 North Broad St
Philadelphia, PA 19122
(215) 204-6733